Skip to content

April 1, 2011

8

Thank you, @NIGlobal. Hello, @JiveSoftware.

by deirdrewalsh

When I accepted a PR position at National Instruments seven years ago, I knew it was an amazing company. After all, Fortune had included it five times on the Best Places to Work For List (now that’s up to 12)!

What I didn’t realize is that I would be working with some of the smartest minds in marketing, making NI’s employees my family (literally, my mom worked there), and pioneering a new way to do business.

I want to thank NI leadership and my awesome team of community and social media honey badgers for being so supportive, innovative and results-oriented. We launched and nurtured a world-class social business program, and I look forward to being its biggest fan and follower!

I also want to thank the all-stars in the LabVIEW community. Your cutting-edge uses of NI technology, friendship into the wee hours during NIWeek, and passion for changing the world one popcorn tweet at time will stay with me forever.

On Monday, I’ll be starting the next phase of my career by joining Jive Software. (And that’s no joke)!

I’m thrilled to take my passion for building valuable relationships to the next level as Jive’s new Sr. Social Media Manager. I can’t wait to embark on this journey and begin making an even bigger impact on a company I’ve championed as a customer for years. I can’t think of anything more exciting than the opportunity to do social media for a social business company!

As always, feel free to ping me with any questions or connect with me on Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook, or in person!

Career at NI comes full circle: Team frames picture of my photo on the cover of EDN Magazine for article on Why Engineers Should Care about Social Media. Photo by Jennifer Dawkins.

Read more from Social Business Posts
8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Apr 1 2011

    Congrats Deirdre!

  2. Claire Flanagan
    Apr 1 2011

    Deirdre, Wow! What great news. I’m sure NI is sad to see you go. You’ve certainly done great things for them and their social business journey. But there’s no question you’re going to rock at Jive Software. As a Jive customer, I’m glad to see you take the reigns as Sr Social Media manager. Congratulations!

  3. ridingo
    Apr 1 2011

    Congrats on the big move!!!! Wow! I am a bit surprised, but very happy for you. Hope you are staying in ATX.

  4. Apr 2 2011

    I CAN’T WAIT until Monday!!!! Soooo glad you’re taking charge over here at Jive Software, and believe me, I’m not the only one – be prepared for a barrage of grateful, relieved, and congratulatory people!

  5. Apr 3 2011

    Thanks, everyone. I will be staying in Austin and can’t wait to get started tomorrow! 🙂

  6. Apr 5 2011

    Congrats! I’ve excited to see what you’re able to pull off with them 🙂

    We should celebrate with beers soon!

  7. emiliekopp
    Apr 5 2011

    Deirdre, you will be dearly missed by your friends and family here at NI. But we honey badgers will ensure the show to go on!!! Good luck at Jive!

  8. jennhb
    Apr 5 2011

    That was some really smart hiring manager to snatch you up seven years ago! It brings tears to my eyes just thinking about it.

    I’m so proud of you for how you’ve grown and all you’ve accomplished. I can’t wait to see what you do during this next chapter at Jive!

    We miss you already.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

