Skip to content

December 14, 2008

3

Screw Virtual Happy Hour!

by deirdrewalsh

flairThanks to my superstar intern, Blake Sunshine (yes, she has the coolest name EVER), I’ve re-energized my focus on Facebook.

One thing I’ve struggled with is the 1010101 random applications poking me, super poking me, biting me,  or my personal favorite – hitting me in the face with a snowball. It’s bad enough that I toil over the friend requests from the “mean girls” at my no-boys-allowed high school.  I don’t want to get virtually beat-up as well.

Anyway, while I admit that I’m slightly addicted to the “Pieces of Flair” app and have even created my own button for LabVIEW,  I’ve failed to really connect with the majority of the applications that are not associated with my profile on popular music sites like Pandora or Last.FM.

However, last week, Give Real changed that with the launch of its “Real Drinks” Facebook Application.  This delicious goody allows people to buy REAL drinks for their friends online.  Finally, a mix of the virtual world and real one I can toast.

According to the site, “friends buy each other drink credits on the Give Real website or through Facebook. Once accepted, the drink can be redeemed by using any major credit card at over 500,000 bars and restaurants. It’s the first online service to break the boundaries of ‘virtual drinks’ by delivering real drinks and making them available all over the country.”

This beats the hell out of martini icons and clip art bud bottles.

Cheers!!!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Emilie
    Dec 15 2008

    Has anyone tried this out first-hand? I’m interested to see how it might appear on the recipient’s credit card bill.

  2. Dec 15 2008

    I tried to buy @kamrans a drink last night, but had issues. Will try again this week and let you know!

  3. Dec 16 2008

    Looks like I’m not the only one having issues with the Give Real App…http://www.techcrunch.com/2008/12/10/skip-the-virtual-shots-give-real-lets-you-send-your-friends-some-actual-booze/

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

