Skip to content

July 31, 2008

Lewis Black asks…

by deirdrewalsh

“What is the Root of all Evil – Ultimate Fighting or Bloggers?” on his new Comedy Central show.

While there were myriad of bad puns like “violence vs. viral,” Patton Oswalt made some valid anti-blogging points. Specifically, he bashed Twitter and claimed that blogs are making us a “rough-draft culture.” As a public relations major and American literature fanatic, I tend to agree.  If you log into my WordPress account, you will see at least a half-dozen drafts of blog entries that I refuse to hit the Publish button on until I can read while wearing my editor hat.  While I’m not claiming to be an online Pulitzer Prize winner, I think there are few bloggers that offer quality content and quality writing.

I also often wonder if text messaging is even more damaging than blogging to the English language.  When I get messages from my younger cousins, I have to use Google to decipher their meanings.  Who knew that g2cu = glad to see you or that hohil = head over heels in love?

Watch this video of the show and let me know your thoughts.

P.S. Excuse any typos. This was a first draft.

Read more from Social Business Posts

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

